MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF NAPLES CITY COUNCIL HELD IN THE PARKS & RECREATION BUILDING, NAPLES, FLORIDA, WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 8, 1978, AT 12:00 NOON.

Present:

Harry E.O. Heineman Mayor

Virginia B. Corkran James F. McGrath John M. McGregor Randolph I. Thornton Councilmen

Gilbert V. Blanguart

Councilmen

C. C. Holland

Absent:

Also Present:

George Patterson City Manager John Fletcher City Attorney Janet L. Davis City Clerk Bradley Estes Assistant to the City Manager Gary Young Chief of Police Norris Ijams Fire Chief Anders B. Sandquist Building & Zoning Administrator Roger Barry Planning Director John McCord City Engineer Franklin Jones Finance Director William Savidge Director of Public Works Mark Wiltsie Purchasing Department James Pilkey Personnel Department Tara Norman Secretary to City Manager Mae Davis Secretary to Mayor Ellen P. Marshall Deputy Clerk Kathy Langlois Deputy Clerk Matt Patton Fire Department

1

Otus Albright Mr. & Mrs. Grant School Superintendent Clyde Quinby James D. Murphy David Heron Edward A. Twerdahl Wade H. Schroeder Ken Wood R.B. Anderson Scott Foster

News:Media:

2

Allen Bartlett Fort Myers News-Press Kent Weissinger WINK-TV Sue McGee Naples Star David Swartzlander Naples Daily News Ann Dias TV-9 Frank Davies Miami Heralč

Other interested citizens and employees.

Mayor Heineman called the meeting to order; whereupon he noted that the significant item on the agenda was for the Council to receive the canvass results of the general election held on February 7, 1978.

AGENDA ITEM 1. Canvass results of general election held on February 7, 1978, and declare results of election.

At this point City Manager Patterson read into the record the results of the canvassing board composed of the City Attorney, City Clerk, and himself. Mayor Heineman presented the report to Council for their consideration.

Mr. Thornton made a motion to accept and approve the official report of the canvassing board on the results of the February 7, 1978 election, seconded by Mr. McGrath and carried unanimously by voice vote, with Mr. Blanquart and Mr. Holland being absent and not voting.

Prior to swearing in the new Mayor and Councilmen, Mayor Heineman asked the two retiring councilmen present if they had any remarks. Mr. McGregor made a short statement to wish the successors the best of luck, hoping they would have the same enjoyment and the same support that departing members had received.

Mrs. Corkran stated that her term had been a great experience and she wished the remaining members the best of success and congratulations to those newly elected.

At Mayor Heineman's invitation Mr. McGrath and Mr. Thornton made statements of farewell to the retiring members of the Council and the Mayor.

At this point the Mayor and retiring Council members were presented with plaques commemorating their tenure of service to the City of Naples.

Mayor Heineman then congratulated Roland B. Anderson on his being the new Mayor and he extended his congratulations in turn to Edward Twerdahl, Wade Schroeder and Ken Wood. He went on to congratulate the unsuccessful candidates in this election and he noted that it took courage, time and devotion to undertake the running for public office. He wished to express his appreciation to Mr. McGregor, Mrs. Corkran and Mr. Blanquart for their participation in the affairs of this Council. He noted the accomplishments he felt were achieved during their terms of office.

AGENDA ITEM 2. Swearing in of New Mayor and Council persons.

Judge Charles Carlton came forward to administer the oath of office to the newly elected Mayor and Council persons.

Mayor Anderson requested that each new Councilman say a few words; whereupon, each made a short statement.

Mayor Anderson added a brief statement, saying they would all be good listeners and fast learners.

There being no further business to come before this Special Meeting of Naples City Council, Mayor Anderson declared it adjourned at 12:40 p.m.

R.B. Cenderson

R. B. Anderson, Mayor

fanet Lilano

Janet L. Davis City Clerk

These minutes approved by Naples City Council on March 1, 1978.

- 3 -

PRECINC
BΥ
ELECTIONS
ЧÖ
RECORD

General Election, February 7 1978

PRECINCTS

CANDIDATE'S NAME AND TITLE	IJ	9, پ	10	18	19	20	27	28	29	30	. 31	35	Tap:	bsent	TOTAL
ANYOR					2.43 19.44	199 (11)					100		633		19
R. 3. ANDERSON	142	181	145	229	437	- 39 -	. 551	. 46	368	199	157	323	323 2817	75	2892
HARRY CLININGHAM	107	. 181	122	105	. 104	130	211	67	112	. 115	123	161	191 1518	26	1544
ARCITE TURCER	199	206	206	95	143	229	9 159	157	119	- 210	154	161	2038	21	2039
COUNCILMEN .					13.0						11				
DAVID P. HERON	63	64	78	50	41	104	4 76	65	36	72	41	65	755	28	783
TTH NCCE	206	232	206	173	212	136	5 275	102	193	218	176	269	2398	57	2455
WARTE NUTITER	129	180	127	157	296	81	. 420	52	283	209	107	186	2227	56	2283
WIDE HAMPTON SCHROEDER	139	180	146	228	391	52	2 552	46	355	206	124	286	2705	70	2775
WILLIN G. TRACY	82	98	65	43	75	6	90 119	75	65	82	60	. 70	924	35	959
דמענט א. (נכט) האביתאות, ש.	160	169	146	242	458	4	49 565	54	388	219	138	336	2924	67	1662
DAVID S. WIEKS	. 27	77	78	22	41	159	9 37	83	27	97	47	44	789	14	803
GILBERG WELL	138	172	202	148	164	107	7 223	79	151	131	123	303	1941	32	1973
LUCY WINGLER	110	114	123	61		149	. 9	16	69	114	117	121	1276	36	1312
KEN MOON	178	224	211	126	200	146	6 319	113	205	185	262	276	2445	49	2494
. ISO SELON TRIOL	457	524	475	431	686	400	0 927	273	603	529	435	682	6422	157	6579
SELION CEVELSIDEN TRIOL	817	1-586	825	671	1083	846	1509	9 558	606	937	813	1184	-14	.57	11,135
		1	the loss		*			1							

ATTACHMENT #1

.....

..

- 4 -